How Many Points for a New York Speeding Ticket?
The first thing people want to know when they receive a New York speeding ticket is how many points will go on your license. The answer is that it depends. The NY State Department of Motor Vehicles assesses a different number of points depending on how fast over the speed limit you are convicted. In other words, the less difference between the speed limit and your actual speed, the less points will accrue. Conversely, the more of a difference between the speed limit and how fast over the limit you are convicted of, the more points will accrue.
When you receive a New York State Speeding Ticket, NY VTL Sec. 1180, your goal is to avoid the conviction. This is because accruing NY points causes insurance increases, license suspensions, and additional fines called driver safety assessments. Our speeding and traffic ticket defense lawyers can represent you in any New York State traffic court throughout the state. All we do is defend drivers accused of speeding and avoid the points and corresponding insurance increases that accrue with a NY speeding conviction. In addition, we also provide in most cases a money back guarantee to reduce or eliminate the points. See our page for details.POINT ACCRUAL BREAKDOWNS FOR SPEEDING UNDER NY VTL 1180
11 Point Accrual:
Speeding 41 MPH or more over the speed limit. Plus license suspension & $675 fine in addition to the court fines called an assessment
Speeding 31 - 40 MPH over the speed limit. Plus $450.00 fine in addition to the court fines called an assessment and a possible license suspension
6 Points Accrual:
Speeding 21 – 30 MPH over the speed limit. Plus $300 assessment
4 Points Accrual:
Speeding 11 – 20 MPH over the speed limit
3 Points Accrual:
Speeding 1-10 MPH over the limit
3 Points Accrual:
Traveling unreasonably fast for conditions (unspecified speed)
3 Points Accrual:
Traveling too slow for conditions
Accumulating 6 or more points in any given 18 month period, as calculated from the violation dates, causes additional fines, called an assessment. There are no assessments for accumulation of up to 5 points in any given 18 month period. However, once you hit 6 or more points the assessments kick in. The assessment is $300.00 for the first 6 points, and $75.00 for every point thereafter.
Example: You mail your ticket for talking on a cell phone in with a guilty plea and accrue 5 points. 8 months later you mail your ticket in with a guilty plea for speeding 21 MPH over the speed limit and accrue an additional 6 points. Added together that’s 11 points in an 18 month period. The NYS DMV will now fine you $675.00 ($300.00 for the first 6 points, and then $75.00 for every point thereafter). In addition, your license will now be suspended as you went over 10 points in total. It will remain suspended until 18 months after your first conviction date.INSURANCE DEMERIT POINT SYSTEM
The insurance demerit system is designed to raise rates for activities that the insurance company deems you as a more risky driver. All speeding convictions can effect your insurance rates, however the faster you are convicted of travelling the more the insurance surcharge increase.WHAT OUR OFFICE CAN DO FOR YOU
Our law office offers convenience, ease, and certitude of a positive outcome. Our traffic ticket defense service is convenient because it is statewide. We will represent you in any court in the State of New York. Our traffic court defense service is easy because our traffic court lawyers get your court appearance waived so you do not have to go to court. Nor do you ever have to come to our office. In other words we do everything for you. We give you piece of mind that you will have a positive outcome by giving you a money back guarantee, in most cases, to reduce or eliminate the points and thereby prevent an insurance increase or license suspension.GETTING STARTED
Getting started with our office is easy. Call us toll free at 1-877-99-NO-TIX (1-877-996-6849) or e-mail us through this site. All we need to know is your name, the name of the court your speeding ticket is returned to (or the town or county where you were issued the ticket), the charge or charges, and if a speeding ticket then the speed limit and the speed charged. You can do this by writing the information in an e-mail, or canning and e-mailing your ticket(s) or by faxing the tickets to us at 914-777-2999. With that minimal information we can provide you with a no cost, no obligation phone consultation. Don’t wait, call today!