Mamaroneck Village Speeding & Traffic Ticket Defense
The Village of Mamaroneck, NY takes speeding, NY VTL § 1180 very seriously. Our lawyers at Palumbo & Associates, PC will defend your speeding and traffic tickets before the Mamaroneck Village Court. Located at 169 Mt. Pleasant Avenue, Mamaroneck, NY 10543, the Mamaroneck Village Court meets weekday mornings for speeding and traffic ticket cases such as failure to yield / move over, NY VTL § 1144, cell phone VTL § 1225, stop sign VTL § 1172, and red light NY VTL § 1111. Traffic tickets are prosecuted by a special prosecutor.
The Village of Mamaroneck is home to the world famous Walter’s Hot Dog Stand. Founded in 1919 by Walter Warrington, Walter's is a family business. Walter’s first stand was on Boston Post Road. Walter did not sell hot dogs at that time apples from an orchard he owned on Quaker Ridge. Later, Walter began selling his unique hot dog recipe, which is a blend of beef, pork, and veal.
The dogs are cooked by split grilling lengthwise in a butter sauce to a crusty, delectable finish, melded with a toasted bun, and dashed with Walter’s own mustard and garnished with a pickle. Those cutting down on carbs can order doubles, which is two dogs on one bun, and small children can order The Puppy,” which is a half dog on a short bun.
In 1928 Walter purchased property at 937 Palmer Avenue and erected a Pagoda style building replete with a cooper roof and dragon lanterns. The Pagoda building has been there ever since. Gourmet Magazine voted Walter’s the #1 hot dog in America in 2001, and Walter's was voted the best roadside stand in Westchester 1994-2004. In 2010 Walter’s was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Village of Mamaroneck is also home to the renowned “skinny house.” Located at 175 Grand Street, Mamaroneck, it measures only 10 feet wide and 37 feet long, and sits on a 12 ½ foot wide parcel of land. The skinny house was built in 1932 by Nathan T. Seely, an African-American carpenter. In the 1920’s he and his Willard brother owned a thriving home building company that catered to African Americans moving north from the South. With the Stock Market Crash of 1929 however, his business went bankrupt. Nathan even lost the home he had built for his family.
In 1931, an Italian immigrant, friend, and neighbor named Panfilo Santangelo, seeing Nathan Seely’s plight, gave him a 12-and-a-half-foot by 100-foot strip of land from his own property so that he could build a home. With little money to purchase new building materials, Mr. Seely had little money to purchase new building materials, so he salvaged and recycled everything, including railroad ties, windows to banisters, and a even a chicken coop to build the house. To ensure that the house did not blow over in a stiff wind, he fastened the home to the ground with steel cables which are still visible today.